Taproom Poetry Series

Last week, the series featured poets Lee Ann Roripaugh and Jordan Stempleman.


Jordan Stempleman reading at The Taproom Poetry Series

About the poets:
Lee Ann Roripaugh’s third volume of poetry, On the Cusp of a Dangerous Year, was released by Southern Illinois University Press in 2009. A second volume, Year of the Snake, also published by Southern Illinois University Press, was named winner of the Association of Asian American Studies Book Award in Poetry/Prose for 2004. Her first book, Beyond Heart Mountain (Penguin Books, 1999), was a 1998 winner of the National Poetry Series, and was selected as a finalist for the 2000 Asian American Literary Awards. The recipient of a 2003 Archibald Bush Foundation Individual Artist Fellowship, she was also named the 2004 winner of the Prairie Schooner Strousse Award, the 2001 winner of the Frederick Manfred Award for Best Creative Writing awarded by the Western Literature Association, and the 1995 winner of the Randall Jarrell International Poetry Prize. Her poetry and short stories have appeared in numerous journals and anthologies. Roripaugh is currently a Professor of English at the University of South Dakota, where she serves as Director of Creative Writing and Editor-in-Chief of South Dakota Review.

Jordan Stempleman is the author of Their Fields (Moria, 2005), What’s the Matter (Otoliths, 2007), Facings (Otoliths, 2007), The Travels (Otoliths, 2008), and String Parade (BlaxeVOX Books, 2008). His recent collections of poetry include Doubled Over (BlazeVOX Books, 2009) and No, Not Today (Magic Helicopter Press, 2012). He co-edits The Continental Review, teaches writing and literature at the Kansas City Art Institute, and curates A Common Sense Reading Series.

from sara sneath
originally aired on ad astra radio thursday april 19th, 2012:


The next Taproom Reading will feature David Ohle and Tasha Haas on May 20th.



3 Responses to “Taproom Poetry Series”
  1. Krista says:

    Great story, Sneath!

  2. Jason Ryberg says:

    Actually, the reading series at the Tap Room started back in 2009 under the direction of Mark Hennessy, who continues to book and host what I suppose we now have to call, “The Original Tap Room Reading Series.” Sounds catchy to me. Hmmm, I should probably get to work on the facebook page.

    • Jason, Ad Astra Radio did a story over the Taproom Poetry Series last semester. Don’t worry, Mark Hennessy was given a shout out. The story unfortunately wasn’t uploaded to the website, but if it’s something you’re interested in hearing I can search our computers for the audio file.

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.