Jamie-xx-in-colour26 year old Jamie Smith is a monolith of the British electronic scene. You may know him from his work as a member of The xx, his production of the title track from Drake’s 2011 release “Take Care”, his score work for a ballet commissioned by the Manchester International Festival (chances are you don’t know him from that, but, cool, right?), or “We’re New Here,” his Jamie xx remix album of Gil Scott-Heron’s final album “I’m New Here.” “We’re New Here” was an impressively well composed and successful release (I’m taking care not to let this review turn into a review for “We’re New Here,” but, check it out if you so please. It’s beautiful).
His first truly solo release as Jamie xx, “In Colour”, released this past May with even more positive reverberations from charts, his listenership at large, and even Pitchfork (one of the only things Pitchfork and I agree on: the talent of Jamie Smith).
The depth and scope of “In Colour” will leave you unable to tolerate silence or stillness. This a house album at it’s core, and if you put this album on and close your eyes and use your imagination, or just throw back a cocktail of Ecstasy, LSD, and a tinge of THC, you’ll think you finally understand why humans rave. The entrancing and cyclical melodic landscape this album creates in 42 minutes is astounding.
I’m writing this review at home, slung over a comfortable chair with soft light streaming around me from the afternoon sun, but I feel as though I could not only handle, but happily immerse myself in a hot and sweaty club where “In Colour” is pulsing.
This album demands to be felt, not just heard. It is undeniable and transportive. Turn it on and stare into the ether of your existence. Or just f-ing dance and groove until you can’t breathe. Either way, you’re going to remember getting absorbed “In Colour”.

Recommended If You Like: Disclosure, Mount Kimbie, The xx, SBTRKT, FKA Twigs, James Blake
Recommended Tracks: 10 (The Rest Is Noise), 1 (Gosh), 2 (Sleep Sound), 8 (Loud Places)
Do Not Play: Conveniently, the only less than wonderful track is the only DNP: 9 (I Know There’s Gonna Be (Good Times))
Written by Kayci Lineberger on 07/23/2015

KJHK 90.7 FM