Iceage- You’re Nothing

Frantic post-punk has plenty of raw energy

Danish Punk band Iceage’s debut album, New Brigade, was an explosion of chaotic energy. You’re Nothing is a much more focused effort.  Most of the songs here sound like they are barely held together with string as the pummeling noise tries to rip them apart. The vocals are extremely raw, which might turn off some listeners but it emphasizes the youthful apathy that this band oozes from every pour.  “In Haze” is the high point on the album with its catchy guitar riff and bombastic drum fills, with others like “Ecstasy”, “Moral”, “Everything Drifts”, “Coalition” and “Burning Hand” rounding out a great string of songs that that will stick with you for a long time.

Think – Black Flag, Joy Division, The Fall, Bad Brains
Stand out Tracks – 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7
FCC – Clean
Label – Matador

Reviewed by Zach Clossin March 3, 2013



KJHK 90.7 FM